How’d I Do?

I was always straight A student (well until college at least), and I thrive off of good grades and feedback about my performance. This doesn’t just apply to my academic life, but to my online social life as well. Lucky for me, most social sites, including this one, have built in analytic reports to track how well a post performs. Now, as someone who mostly blogs for school purposes, my metrics aren’t quite as impressive as I would like, but they’ll do for now. My posts about social media or advertising haven’t performed that well, but my Empire State of Mind post did better than I thought it would. There are a couple of reasons I think this is true. For starters, I shared a link to this post on my Facebook account so all of my friends and family could read it. I also used tags that more people search for when looking for blogs to read (i.e. travel and New York). This is evident in the March analytic breakdown, when my article was published. Screen Shot 2016-04-17 at 7.39.42 PM.png

As you can see here, my post about spring break received over three times the amount of views as any other page on my site. You can also see that Facebook referrals are exceedingly higher than any other referrer. I also posted a link to my site on my Twitter account, but as you can see above, the Facebook referral traffic performed at a much higher rate. This can be for a few reasons, but the most important of which is that I have almost 1000 friends on Facebook, whereas I have only 245 flowers on Twitter. Also, with Facebook’s algorithm, my post with my blog link gets more time on people’s newsfeed when mutual friends like or comment on it, giving me more chances to get views on my blog.

Screen Shot 2016-04-17 at 7.26.54 PM.png

Here’s where I really want to improve. At the beginning of the semester I set a goal for myself to start a blog to use as a portfolio for myself when I start the job search after college. This is most possible when I have the most amount of people seeing my blog. The more people that see my posts, the more likely one of them can offer me a job. Above, you can see that I have only had 93 visitors on my site- a mere fraction of the number of followers I have on my Facebook account who should have seen my post. A few ways I can improve these metrics are first, by writing and sharing more non-school related posts that my followers are interested in reading. The second is to link my blog site to all of my other social sites (including LinkedIn for future employers!). By writing more relevant posts, and using more relevant tags, I am far more likely to get more unique visitors to my site. My newest goal is to start writing a new post every week or two to increase my portfolio and increase my site visits. So now it’s time to get to work!

Sincerely,

B. Kirbs

Leave a Reply

